Naked Yoga | FAQ | Massage | Thoughts | Reservations | Links | Newsletter | Contact  

The Yoga Experience

Our Sivananda class lasts close to two hours and typically is divided into five sections.

  1. Initial relaxation and opening chants
  2. Pranayama (breathing exercises)
  3. Warm up exercises
  4. Asana sequence
  5. Final meditation and closing chants

Let go

During the initial relaxation, we introduce ourselves and prepare for the class by releasing all built up negative energy. Once negative energy has been released, we begin the opening chant with three Om's out loud together. This opens our chakras, or energy centers; and thus, further prepares us for the flow of energy that will take place during the class.


Pranayama is a series of breathing exercises that helps clear the lungs of stale air, clears and opens the chakras, and helps balance the left and right side of the body and mind.


During our warm up exercises, we practice Sun Salutations and a few leg lifts. This loosens our muscles, gets our blood flowing, raises our body temperature, and begins to engage our muscles and mind.


The asana sequence is a series of postures designed to keep the spine healthy. Flexibility, strength, balance, internal organ toxin release, control of mind, and flow of energy are just some of the benefits of the different asanas.


Before we finish the class the same way we began (with three Om's out loud together and then the closing chant), we relax into final meditation. It is here we withdraw from the senses, quiet the mind, and allow ourselves the possibility to experience Absolute Truth or all that is Real. This is a true moment of Enlightenment. This is the true purpose of leading a yogic life and why we practice yoga.